My life as a hummingbird

When a person is spinning within a cyclone, all they need is to step into the eye of the storm to focus. 

For the last two weeks, I have been spinning in that tornado of academia and life.  In the beginning, I had this grandiose idea that I’d have the perfect schedule, balanced between home and school.  My idea of balance had not only been tipped, but whipped into the state of delusion on more than one occasion.  I drive a car that is older than my classmates, and my idea of “learning” is well out dated.  No more  “my dog ate my homework”, unless of course, he fancies a jump drive appetizer with his daily kibble. Often questioning my recent decision, I can only resolve to one answer:  “Keep your eye on the prize, it’s only a small price to pay for now.” 

This morning, I happened to spot a young hummingbird on the sidewalk near the front campus door.  I had spotted my “center”.  I couldn’t help but stop and focus on the poor thing.  It could barely fly, and had no immediate escape from its own cyclone of demise. I could relate to its anxiety far too well.  While it seemed content to remain perched on my finger on a couple of attempts to put it down, I needed to go.  After class, I looked for that bird. While it was gone, I pray it found its focus and ability to fly.  It helped me find mine.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Stephanie
    Sep 11, 2010 @ 17:31:49

    This is another gorgeous entry, Jennifer. Your writing voice is thoughtful and authentic. I’m really enjoying your blog.

    Balance? Ha. I struggle with this each and every day.

    School is going to get easier. Soon, you will be an old, or “seasoned,” pro!

    Reply

  2. Stephanie
    Sep 11, 2010 @ 17:32:25

    Think about a new blog title… something that will hook your audience.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

