Superhero: aka Student

These last few weeks I have learned a valuable lesson. Perhaps upon entering college once again, I came into it with too great a cavalier attitude.  I was going to fly through it all and that after it was all said and done; I am going to save the world.  After all, isn’t that why were here; to making our own indelible stamp in the world to have the ability to make a difference no matter how great or small?    While, I don’t have the song “I’m every woman” or “Invincible” as the soundtrack to my student life at ICC, I had hoped with some sort of fervency that my being out of college for so long wouldn’t be so obvious. Reality has a nice way of candle-snuffing those ideas.

 Learning isn’t only about presenting ideas, tangibles and hypotheses only within the four walls of a classroom.  It’s discovering that you only have until “this day” to add/drop classes; finding out that those placement tests required for entry are only a guideline—not a definitive. Discovering road construction has commenced on your route to school, and that it now takes you 20 minutes longer than normal. Believing that your instructors are of individual mind that they are the only one assigning homework; or so it seems. Your potential not only in education, but in daily life will be at a constant challenge. 

 So for now my mantra remains:  Do what you can,  do what you’re supposed to, don’t be a hero.  In the end, the life you save will be your own.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Stephanie
    Sep 16, 2010 @ 01:23:30

    Yes, yes. Much of what we learn in college is about how the thing works. See where you give the specific example about construction? Whenever you can add those concrete details, you have the potential to connect with your reader. All of a sudden I can picture that traffic delay because you’ve given me the chance to do so.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

