Derailed

What does a person do when a serious issue that needs controlling pops into their life, and yet it is beyond the scope of their control?  When things need your attention, advice, intervention and you’re six hundred miles from the vortex of the crisis; but still dead center of the storm?  Worry…it’s all a person can do.  Every piece of “sound psychological advice” tells me that I can’t do anything, because it’s out of my control.  Unfortunately, worry is much more than a distraction.  It’s a debilitator.  It paralyzes you, pulls you in directions so far off course, that you forget the direction and purpose of your journey.  It forgets deadlines. 

We all have these things that pop up in life, and when it does it can almost literally suck the very life out of a person.  Right now, I seem to be in the eye of that storm because of a particular family issue.  I’m torn in all kinds of directions, but can’t move.  Needless to say, my focus hasn’t been on my schoolwork.  No insightful, “wax poetic” words of wisdom for today.  No matter how much energy, intention, focus a student has for academic excellence, sometimes when traveling on the stepping stones of life they slip off the rock and fall back to step one.  I know I need to get up.  I have to get up.  Ironically, the future of this particular family issue depends on my success in the next two years.  I don’t know if life will wait that long.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Stephanie
    Oct 21, 2010 @ 23:56:36

    Family issues hit us square in the heart. They demand complete attention and do not ask if it’s convenient. They are consuming.

    Good luck.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

